BBQ Grill got rusted during hurricane, what do I do?

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

The111
Pilgrim

BBQ Grill got rusted during hurricane, what do I do?

Postby The111 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:11 am

Hi all. Newbie here, I don't know much about grills or cooking. (Sorry!) I bought a cheap $125 grill from Big Lots a few months ago and the girlfriend cooks on it all the time for me. We live in Houston and evacuated for Ike and stupidly left the grill outside, covered of course, but that wasn't enough. It blew over in the wind, and when we returned home it was on its side in some mud/water, with the lid open and lots of rust forming on it. See attached image.

Anyway, the worst rust on the interior is in 3 places... the racks themselves (where you place the meat), the long triangular piece underneath (where the gas/flames come out of) and the inside of the "container" itself (you can see a little along the front edge, near the bottom of the pic). Like I said, the grill was only $125 but I'd still hate to trash it if I don't have to. It's a Char-Broil, and I have the manual and was thinking of trying to replace just those parts. But my concern is, what if there's still something else in the system that rusted, will I somehow contaminate my food? For example, if we replaced only the metal grates, but not the triangular piece, would the flames bring particulate rust through the air onto our food?

What should I do? Thanks so much in advance for helping out a newbie.

jamesb USER_AVATAR
JamesB
Retired Lawman

Postby JamesB » Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:40 am

Well welcome tot he forum! When ya get the chance, wonder on over to the Cattle Call section and tell us a bit about yerself...

As far as the grill a little rust ain't gonna kill ya, but it would be a good idea to get it off if ya can...