smoker design troubles

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

zeroluck
Pilgrim

smoker design troubles

Postby zeroluck » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:48 am

So I'm new to smoking, but have always enjoyed grilling. I've read lots of forums, posts, websites about cheap offset, and the expensive offsets, enough to know I don't want to go cheap. Recently I've given more thoughts to build your own smokers using 55 gallon steel barrels. Kind of freaks me out though cause I can't find a good source locally (zip 48313) that I trust. The fact that these old barrels could contain heavy metals, oils is kind of scary don't want to get sick saving money. I'm getting off subject from my main question which is I read a build guide for a smoker drew my own up in "google sketchup" and I read the article one last time, and it said it's not a charcoal smoker, but a wood burning smoker. I would really appreciate someone taking a look at my design and telling me why charcoal would not be ideal? Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The pig head is for looks, and is NOT an offset. 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/26198859@N07/6819783016/" target="_blank
http://www.flickr.com/photos/26198859@N07/6819783268/" target="_blank 
I know posting links is discouraged for new poster but you can't see what I'm talking about without seeing a picture. My apologies if I broke a rule
fr8 train USER_AVATAR
FR8 Train
Bandolero

Re: smoker design troubles

Postby FR8 Train » Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:35 pm

Cool design. I see no reason why you couldn't use charcoal, or lump charcoal with that design. Should work fine. I've seen many pits designed roughly the same way.
"Sic 'em Bears"
zeroluck
Pilgrim

Postby zeroluck » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:19 pm

FR8 Train wrote:Cool design. I see no reason why you couldn't use charcoal, or lump charcoal with that design. Should work fine. I've seen many pits designed roughly the same way.