Any type of high heat grill.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

pete USER_AVATAR
Pete
Pilgrim

Newbie here looking to buy my first grill

Postby Pete » Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:33 am

Hi folks!

I have recently bought a townhouse and am planning to get into the world of grilling. My whole life I have lived in an apartment and never had the opportunity to grill so I am fairly inexperienced with grilling and have no one to ask so I am hoping I can get some guidance on the forums in picking out my first grill. Feel free to correct anything I say and feel free to give me any advice on how to go about this. Are there any specific models that I should consider? Thanks in advance!

Gas or Propane – I am a big fan of the added smoky flavor you get from meat cooked on charcoal grills and I would be getting a charcoal grill if there were no HOA regulations against it and the complex. I am guessing improper disposal caused some issues in the past. I don’t see the point of electric grills except to keep your home cooler by cooking outside. That said, my options are to go with gas or propane. From what I have read it seems most of these types of grill can be converted. Is that true? There is a gas hook up at the house but I have never worked with gas before either so I am hesitant to hook it up to the grill. I have seen a few trays where you add wood chips to mimic the charcoal or pellet grills. Do those actually work?

Size – I don’t have any kids or the room for large family gatherings so it makes sense to get a smaller sized grill – maybe a 2 burner. I will be living in Massachusetts so I will have to bring it inside during the winter as well since I have no shed to store it in so smaller is better.
New or used – I would prefer new but is there any merit in looking for used grills on craigs list or fb marketplace?