Any type of flower pots post here

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

woodenvisions USER_AVATAR
woodenvisions
Chuck Wagon

In search of Acorn Kamado veteran for suggestions

Postby woodenvisions » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:55 pm

Hi everyone,

I was looking for someone that would know a rough estimate on how many hours and at what temp is the Acorns sweet spot for cooking a brisket point. I've been told no foiling is necessary, and the acorn makes a moist brisket with great bark and smoke ring without foiling.

I'm thinking of doing it for about 9 hrs at about 225 degrees, using smoke the last 6 hrs.

Does this sound too far off ?

Any suggestions or constructive criticism is great appreciated.

Thanks all
spacetrucker USER_AVATAR
spacetrucker
Chuck Wagon

Re: In search of Acorn Kamado veteran for suggestions

Postby spacetrucker » Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:34 am

I have no kamado cooker knowledge, but I do know after the meat reaches about 140 degrees it is very difficult if not impossible to get any smoke penetration, so for me, the smoke gets applied early on in the cook, just me and my observations, so if I wanted smoke in the bark or on the outside I would smoke later in the cook, but me, well I want it on the inside as much as I can...
Don't count every day, Make every day Count
Good Cue to ya..
Vernon

FEC-100
Webber kettle 22"
Webber genesis
Blackstone pizza oven
woodenvisions
Chuck Wagon

Postby woodenvisions » Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:52 am

spacetrucker wrote:I have no kamado cooker knowledge, but I do know after the meat reaches about 140 degrees it is very difficult if not impossible to get any smoke penetration, so for me, the smoke gets applied early on in the cook, just me and my observations, so if I wanted smoke in the bark or on the outside I would smoke later in the cook, but me, well I want it on the inside as much as I can...

Hi Spacetrucker,
That is good info and is much appreciated.