Green Egg Help Needed From Offset Folks Who Own a Green Egg.

Any type of flower pots post here

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

2manybikes
Pilgrim

Green Egg Help Needed From Offset Folks Who Own a Green Egg.

Postby 2manybikes » Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:34 pm

So, I've been using an offset smoker for several years as well as a Traeger with a Smoke Daddy to smoke with the Trager at any temp. My offset is gone for a few weeks to have it upgraded / modified. I've got a Green Egg I've used for a few months on and off and I don't like it. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I can't maintain decent smoke for more than an hour. I'm not running low and slow, so I need a good two - three hours of solid smoke to get the flavor I want. Tried several different methods of wood chunk placement mixed with lump charcoal. Still no improvement.

Anybody that uses both an offset and a green egg have any suggestions? Like to hear from an offset person so I know whether I just won't be able to replicate the flavor I get on my offset. If I can't do better, I'll ditch my green egg when my offset comes back.

Thanks!
datsbbq USER_AVATAR
DATsBBQ
Deputy

Re: Green Egg Help Needed From Offset Folks Who Own a Green

Postby DATsBBQ » Sat Jul 12, 2014 7:14 pm

This is a FWIW type post. I only use high quality lump and usually don't use a deflector. Grease on lump = goodness. Using chunks causes temp spike, the media doesn't burn at the same rate. 12 hr + burns without adding/stirring the lump are typical.
Deputy Dave

“A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."-Bruce Lee
okie sawbones USER_AVATAR
Okie Sawbones
Outlaw

Postby Okie Sawbones » Sat Jul 12, 2014 7:18 pm