Meet Cogsworth - BBQ restore

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

sircapslock
Pilgrim

Meet Cogsworth - BBQ restore

Postby sircapslock » Mon May 11, 2020 4:46 pm

Hi everyone,
Brand new here. My wife and I recently bought a house and with it came this behemoth bbq grill (she calls him Cogsworth). I am a complete novice to bbq so I'm not really sure where to start. I can say for sure that I'm going to at least have to replace the burners, but I'm not really sure where to look. I was told by a friend that this is a completely custom build, as such I don't really know how to find parts for it. He is powered by natural gas.

So I have a few questions. 1) What exactly do you call this? Is it a "pit" bbq or does this type of grill go by a different name?

Cogsworth.jpg

He's got two electrical components: one moves the burner/knobs up and down. The other looks like it powers a rotisserie. The rotisserie motor doesn't seem to work any more, though it does turn on and start spinning that little plastic fan (I'm guessing that's for cooling the motor while it spins). That's question 2) is the motor you see here familiar? Would I be able to find a replacement for it specific to a rotisserie like this? Or would it be a matter of purchasing a new motor and retrofitting it for this purpose?

rotary.jpg

Here is a photo of the burners from below. They're about 22 inches long and about 7 inches wide. I now understand them to be "U" burners. I found some similarly sized U burners that were replacements for Viking OEM parts. Not sure if those would work here.

burners.jpg

Here is a photo of where the burners go out to meet the knobs through the pipe that is fed natural gas from the house.

knobs.jpg

So question 3) I know I at least am going to have to replace the burners and the knobs. Where am I able to find those replacement parts?

Sorry for the long post, I know my beginner level is showing :)

Thanks so much!