New design possibility

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Jfrank84
Pilgrim

New design possibility

Postby Jfrank84 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:01 am

Hello,
I have a TIG welder and would like to design a new pit. I cannot find much information on what I’m looking for with searches so I’m hoping you guys could help.

I’d like to build a stainless smoker with a separate box for coal and wood that I’d also like to use as a direct charcoal option if wanted. In addition, i’d like to have another small section for gas grilling in a separate compartment.

I’m no engineer at all. I can weld anything stainless, just don’t have the design mindset.

Is this a possible combination that wouldn’t be absolutely enormous? In my head, I’d like it to roll on castor wheels and not need a trailer. I’d also like to keep it under $3000 if possible.

Please let me know if this is possible. A huge bonus would be if anyone would like to design it for me!!

Thanks!
John
Damon54
Cowboy

Re: New design possibility

Postby Damon54 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:52 am

Where are you located John?
I love the way that Stainless looks but might I suggest that the better use of your stainless welding skills would be in making the grates for the interior.
Jfrank84
Pilgrim

Postby Jfrank84 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:25 am

I am located in Friendswood.

I currently have one of the Lowe’s combo gas, charcoal, and smoker box combo and I’ve had it since May 2011. It’s been great but starting to rust out a bit.

I love the idea of making one of my own since I grill numerous times a month and charcoal and smoke mesquite about 5 times a year now.

What are you thinking?

John
Damon54
Cowboy

Postby Damon54 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:28 am

Have you gotten as far as deciding your preference between a traditional Offset style or is a Vertical/Cabinet style more to your liking?
Jfrank84
Pilgrim

Postby Jfrank84 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:08 am