New build offset smoker

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Fabkid33
Wrangler

New build offset smoker

Postby Fabkid33 » Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:07 am

I'm new to the smoker world I'm looking at building a offset smoker with a insulated fire box . I have found a 24 inch round tank x 88 long siting on a trailer in phoenix that I'm looking at buying I run my own business doing welding and fabrication so making it is no big deal to me the question I have is the tank is almost 3/16 wall thickness and just making sure that it's thick enough I see most guys use 1/4 inch
oldusedparts USER_AVATAR
OldUsedParts
Deputy

Re: New build offset smoker

Postby OldUsedParts » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:19 pm

Even tho it's the same question, I'm Bumping this one to the Top and maybe someone will see at least one of them. :dont: :laughing7:
I am determined to sustain myself as long as possible & die like a soldier who never forgets what is due to his own honor & that of his country—Victory or Death. William Barret Travis - Lt. Col. comdt "The Alamo"
pinoypitmaster USER_AVATAR
PinoyPitmaster
Cowboy

Postby PinoyPitmaster » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:08 pm

In my opinion, i would go much lighter gauge and at very least 1” spacing between double wall and if possible insulate the cook chamber. The cook chamber hardly rots and if it does it’s probably due to poor care. If your doing offset and attaching firebox to cook chamber you might want thicker side wall that welds to firebox. My experience is that despite metal thickness heat dissipation the same in wind and cold middle of night BBQ competition.

Right idea on double walled firebox. Thickness on firebox important for heat i would go lighter gauge in the outside skin. However if you do some nifty things with firebox you could go much lighter gauge.