Rookie looking for advice

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

Wings
Pilgrim

Rookie looking for advice

Postby Wings » Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:01 am

As a rookie, I guess I posted this in the wrong section. ooops! I'm looking for a little advice on buying a new smoker. Here's an enhanced copy of my original note.

I've always enjoyed outdoor cooking and I'm looking to expand my options a little. I've got a 22 inch Weber kettle and a Weber Genisis gas grill (good for those quick weeknight meals). For the past five or six years I've also used a Masterbilit (?) gas fired upright smoker but I've never been real happy with it. It's gotten the job done but it's tme to move on. I considered an electic smoker, like a Bradley, but have decided to go the tradional route.
I'm not looking to break the bank but I want a decent unit that a newbie can learn without looking like a total fool. (I've got plenty of those skills in other areas. LOL) Anyway, I've checked the local BBQ supply stores and have narrowed the field to two units, a Tejas 1628 offset model (Houston) or a 32" Urban Cooker from Southern Cooker (OK). I'm leaning toward the UC because I can get a nice discount and it works out to about $100 less than the Tejas. $700 Vs $800
I'm looking for some comments, suggestions, ideas, concerns etc etc. What do the experts think of these two smokers and what would you guys recommend?
Ok, I've rambled for too long. I'll now sit back and read your replies. Thanks for helping out a novice.

Paul
datsbbq USER_AVATAR
DATsBBQ
Deputy

Postby DATsBBQ » Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:41 am

How many folks will you be cooking for? The reason I ask, is those stick burners can be kinda pricey to run to make a dinner for two.
Deputy Dave

“A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."-Bruce Lee
gator USER_AVATAR
Gator
Sheriff

Postby Gator » Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:15 am