My son and I want to learn BBQ & Smoking.

Custom manufactured BBQ Pits, Do-it-Yourself projects, parts and ideas.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

bormik USER_AVATAR
Bormik
Pilgrim

My son and I want to learn BBQ & Smoking.

Postby Bormik » Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:31 pm

I am from upstate NY. I am a welder by trade. I have always wanted to BBQ. Recently my son saw an offset smoker and thought it would be great for he and myself to build one together as a father and son project. I am thrilled. We have done researched on the internet and came across this forum. We would like to build a reverse flow smoker, but not sure if we should buy plans already designed or just go for it and hope for the best?
oldusedparts USER_AVATAR
OldUsedParts
Deputy

Re: My son and I want to learn BBQ & Smoking.

Postby OldUsedParts » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:33 am

First of all, WELCOME, to you and your Son :tup: :texas: COPIED to The Build Thread for you.

You'll find a lot of knowledge and help right here so hang on until the members get a chance to read and answer. Good Luck :salut:
I am determined to sustain myself as long as possible & die like a soldier who never forgets what is due to his own honor & that of his country—Victory or Death. William Barret Travis - Lt. Col. comdt "The Alamo"
k.a.m. USER_AVATAR
k.a.m.
Chuck Wagon

Postby k.a.m. » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:30 pm

Welcome to the forum.
There are plans out there to buy but you really do not need them. The key to building from the hip if your'e not sure ask questions before you commit to something. I have been building cookers for close to 30 years it gets easier after the first one lol. :lol:
Here is a link to the original pit builders calculator. My email is attached to the help link. I can help from there or here. :D
http://www.feldoncentral.com/bbqcalculator.html
Always remember slow and steady wins the race.

My Hybrid cooker.
Competition trailer #2.
bormik USER_AVATAR
Bormik
Pilgrim

Postby Bormik » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:12 pm