Some Chili Assistance

Anything, everything and all things chili. Cowboys like chili!

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

bram03 USER_AVATAR
BRam03
Pilgrim

Some Chili Assistance

Postby BRam03 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:00 am

Hey everyone, I am needing some assistance from the pros... I have been working on my Chili for about 3 years now and I pretty much have it about as good as I can get it. However I think it is still missing something... Maybe it is just me, but could yall look over it and give any pointers? Anything you could offer from a ingredent or cooking standpoint would be appreciated!

P.S.

I also included my Chili Powder for some asistance as well
------------------------

Prep and cook time is about 4 to 5 hours (most of that should be cook)

5 pounds of ground meat
7 cups beef broth (homemade if possible)
5 tbs Chili Powder
4 tbs Onion Powder
4 tsp garlic powder or 12 cloves
5 tsp Aleppo Pepper flakes
3½ tps Pepper (fresh ground)
4½ tsp of Cumin (Fresh toasted and ground)
4 tps Kosher Salt or to taste
2½ Can Tomato Paste (6 oz)
15 Small Roma Tomatoes Peeled and seeded then pureed
5 Peppers (Anaheim or Poblano)
10 Serrano’s (or other hot pepper)
5 Jalapeños
2½ Habaneros
5 Pasilla de Oaxaxaca Chile

Put heat to medium
1. Add your stock to a 4qt cast iron pot, put heat to medium and reduce by 1/3

2. Brown your meat in small 1/2 pound batches, don't let the bottom of the pan burn! de glaze with the beef broth if needed and add liquid back into the pot, after meat is done add the Tomato Paste

3. After all the meat is browned reduce heat to medium low and add chili, onion, and garlic powder along with the salt, cumin, and pepper. Cook for 15 min before making your adjustments