Beef Chuck and St. Louis Spare Ribs

All BBQ smoked Low-N-Slow OR Hot-N-Fast goes here.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

SmokeNHops
Wrangler

Beef Chuck and St. Louis Spare Ribs

Postby SmokeNHops » Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:07 am

If this rain will clear I got some meat that needs a little smoke.

Both of these will be experiments for me. I bought a 5lb chuck roast that had some nice marbling. Wanted to treat it like a brisket and see if I could get some slices. Seems like people that do cook this cut tend to pull it but we will see. Anyone have any experience or tips with Chuck roast? It's separated into two pieces.

Second I have some St Louis Spares that come pre-seasoned from Costco. I typically like to make my own rubs so this will be new territory for me. Plan is to roughly use the 321 method (it's my first time cooking ribs of any type!). I'm considering given them a rinse and then sprinkling my own rubs on them but I'm concerned about over salting them. Thoughts?

Also I made some ghost pepper BBQ sauce that's really tasty. Should help liven the ribs up, should Costco's seasoning run on the bland side.

Oak B&B with oak chunks is the plan.

Any tips with pre-seasoned or chuck, let me have it. Otherwise, pics throughout the day.
UDS - Not so ugly, but I may be biased ;)
Yoder YS640
88rxna
Rustler

Re: Beef Chuck and St. Louis Spare Ribs

Postby 88rxna » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:14 am

Pretty popular to make burnt ends with it if you like those

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
SmokeNHops
Wrangler

Postby SmokeNHops » Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:10 am

88rxna wrote:Pretty popular to make burnt ends with it if you like those

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

That's not a bad idea either. Maybe I do one of each since they're separated already.
Yoder YS640
sailor kenshin USER_AVATAR
Sailor Kenshin
Chuck Wagon

Postby Sailor Kenshin » Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:21 am

SmokeNHops wrote:If this rain will clear I got some meat that needs a little smoke.