Where to Live?

The weather, news and topics not related to BBQ.

Moderator: TBBQF Deputies

datsbbq USER_AVATAR
DATsBBQ
Deputy

Where to Live?

Postby DATsBBQ » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:20 pm

The Mrs and myself are looking to spend our winters in a warmer climate than we have here in Colorado. Kinda of a snow bird thing only we're not old enough to retire. She wants a small town atmosphere, driving distance to a "decent" sized city and not too hot. I want to get away from ice & snow, and since I make my living in real estate, an area where cows don't outnumber people. Cow's don't buy or sell too many houses :lol:

Anyway, BW suggested Alpine Texas. Wife thinks it too secluded and too far south. Thanks BW for the suggestion though. Any of you native Texans have any ideas?

Oh, and she doesn't want to smell refineries. :D
Deputy Dave

“A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."-Bruce Lee
gator USER_AVATAR
Gator
Sheriff

Postby Gator » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:27 pm

Anything Between Austin and San Antoino and due west (AKA Marble Falls...etc) of there is really nice. I think the real estate does pretty good out around there too (any locals?). Best thing is that you will be in the heart of BBQ country!
Gator

"I won't tolerate rude behavior" - Woodrow F Call
chris r USER_AVATAR
Chris R
Pilgrim

Postby Chris R » Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:23 pm

Did you ever think about arizona? My aunt lives in tuson an says the winters are very nice not cold at all. A few years ago my family and I were in flagstaff az during the summer and it was much nicer that the humid summers I have here. But I was told that the winter can get cold.

Chris
nascarchuck USER_AVATAR
nascarchuck
Retired Lawman

Postby nascarchuck » Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:30 pm

Don't know if Corpus Christi or Galveston are too close to the refineries for her, but both are really nice cities. I know that CC has alot of "snowbirds".